Sherman Provision Chicken Fajitas Recipe

The Butcher and I just returned from Mexico.  It was a glorious vacation, and all I can think of is Mexican dishes.  Tonight I cooked him the Chicken Fajitas.  They were delicious.  I also made Spanish Rice to go with it.  I did the very quick version.  I took 2 cups of the uncooked  Brown Instant Rice.  I put 1/2 cup of water mixed with 12 oz. of taco sauce in a medium sauce pan and put it on medium heat until it boiled.  I added the Brown Instant Rice, and stirred it in with the taco sauce/water mixture.  I put a lid on the pan, and removed it from the burner and set the timer for 5 minutes.  It was an excellent version of Spanish Rice without the work.

The rest of the week will include Taco Salad, Beef Enchiladas, Black Beans, Refried Beans, and anything else having to do with Mexican cuisine.  Anyone who knows me knows I have a Mexican Heart.  I still have Ohio feet, because they keep bringing me back home.

 

2 lbs. of boneless/skinless chicken breasts cut into strips
1 medium sweet onion sliced thin
1 sweet red pepper sliced thin
1 green pepper sliced thin
4 TBLS Extra Virgin Olive Oil
2 Tsp Fajita seasoning
1 package of large, or extra large, flour tortillas

Put cut chicken breasts in a bowl, and sprinkle with 1 teaspoon of Fajita seasoning.  Add 2 tablespoons of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil and allow this to set for 20 minutes.

Put cut vegetables in a bowl, and sprinkle with 1 teaspoon of Fajita seasoning.  Add 2 tablespoons of the Extra Virgin Olive Oil and allow this to set for 20 minutes.

Set the heat on 2 burners to medium high.  Put the Chicken mixture in one skillet and place it on one of the burners.  Allow it to cook for approximately 10 minutes until the chicken is thoroughly cooked.  Make sure you are stirring the chicken to prevent it from sticking.   At the same time, put the vegetable mixture in a separate skillet and cook over medium high heat until the vegetables are cooked. (approximately 10 minutes)  You can combine the chicken and vegetables together, once they are cooked, to blend the flavors.

Heat 2 tortillas in the microwave for 20 seconds.  Spoon the combined chicken and vegetable mixture into the center of the warm tortilla and roll it up.  Pick it up and you are having a great “international” experience.

Until next time From our Butcher Block to your Table.

 

 

Leave a comment