Merry Christmas!

I get to breathe a little easier today.  We had a very busy week last week, making sure all of Mauri-1the Holiday orders got out so everyone would have a very Merry Christmas.  Sherman Provision will reopen on Thursday December 27th this week, so I have a little time to recuperate.  The Butcher’s wife never knows for sure what the menu will be for Christmas.  I used to try to get a ham; However, I soon discovered it was easier to win the lottery than to get a ham for Christmas.  Every year I had the Butcher set aside a ham for Christmas.  Inevitably, he would come home and I could tell someone else would be getting my Christmas ham.  One year he said one of the customers had a death in the family.  Another year, a long time customer had forgotten to place the order for the ham.  The reasons didn’t matter, the end result was the same–no ham for Christmas dinner.  I had to come up with the alternate game plan.  This year I decided to have Prime Rib Roast for Christmas.  That was easy enough.  There were plenty of Prime Rib Roasts to go around for everyone and still have one left for us.  Last week, I was the one hearing the sob stories and giving away the Prime Rib Roasts until there were none left.  Not to worry, the Butcher assured me.  He rolled up a boneless Delmonico for me to cook.  I was suspicious.  After all, the customers said they wanted a Rib Roast with a bone in it for flavor.  The Butcher told me to trust him, and I did.  I went home on Saturday with a 7 pound Boneless Rib Roast.  We were planning on cooking it on Sunday.  Well, let’s just say the Butcher was right.  It was the best Rib Roast ever, and so easy.  Don’t ever feel like you need to have the bone for flavor.  Mine was flavorful, easy to carve and serve.  Here are my tips.

Delmonico Prime Rib Roast

Delmonico Rib Roast

Delmonico Rib Roast

7 pound Delmonico Prime Rib Roast

2 Tablespoons Montreal Seasoning

Rack for holding Prime Rib and the bottom part of the broiler pan

I rubbed my Prime Rib with Montreal Seasoning and set it on the rack.  I set the rack with the Prime Rib in the bottom of the broiler pan.  I set my oven for 325 degrees and a delayed bake to end at 2:00 p.m. I set the cook time for 2 hours and 40 minutes.  I actually shut off the oven 30 minutes early and allowed the Rib Roast to rest in the oven. The actual cooking time was 2 hours 10 minutes with the Rib Roast in the oven for an additional 30 minutes.  I was pleased to have Medium Well Rib Roast on the end photoand Medium to Medium Rare in the middle.  Everyone got what they wanted and they were all happy!

Let me tell you, there is no turning back.  We now have our “New” tradition for Christmas Dinner.  I would highly recommend this, unless you win the lottery, and get a Sherman Provision Ham for Christmas.

Until next time, From our Butcher Block to your Table.

Leave a Reply

